Ways of remembering [2]

Everyone in my social media circles is saying they vividly remember what they were doing on 16 April 2014. In contrast, I, known for my knack for remembering mundane details from several decades ago, cannot for the life of me recall specifics of that day. All I remember is the literal pain in my chest that followed. I couldn’t bring myself to read or watch any of the recovered messages those high schoolers sent to their loved ones in their last minutes. I probably never will be able to. I now understand what people mean when they say our brain blocks out certain memories as a self-protection mechanism. I now understand why that day is referred to as the nation’s PTSD.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.