Lemonade

Nope, this is not about Queen Bey. Although I do have an old draft post about her that I started forever ago, the title is just a timely coincidence. It instead refers to the proverbial phrase of making lemonade out of life’s lemons. Annoyingly optimistic, but I must admit I find it suited to my equally annoyingly optimistic personality.

On Monday I came to learn that someone appropriated material from my work. He didn’t claim it to be his own, but didn’t give it due credit either. I was sad to discover that – not because I didn’t get to see my name mentioned in a paper that is going to be widely read, but because I’d always had so much respect for his work. I will give him the benefit of the doubt and assume that it was an honest mistake. No doubt that it was a poor practice nevertheless.

On the train back home in the evening, I briefly considered possible courses of action that I could take, but in the end, I decided to let go. The inevitable silver lining is that it looks like I, a fan of Socratic pedagogy, will never have to worry about lack of ‘vignettes’ for classroom discussions on research integrity.

Leave a Reply

