Bejewelled

I am going to be moved into a new office this Friday. Yesterday I was asked to name anything that I would need/want to set the office up to my ideal or thereabouts. I already knew that my PC was coming with me, so other than shyly requesting if I could have one or two book shelves for my binders, I couldn’t for the life of me think of anything else. A colleague even reminded me that such generosity might not come about again. I am afraid I too am aware of that.

It’s not like I don’t have a desire for things. Far from the truth. If the question was whether there were any software packages that they could buy for me, I am sure I would have started to make a list right away, then and there.

Does that make me geeky? I don’t think so. I don’t know what your definition of a girl geek is, but I have mine, and according to mine, I am not one. At the end of the day, I don’t code, and I don’t ‘get’ the Quantified Self movement, either.

Well, this post wasn’t going to have any conclusion. Instead, just another inward observation, which has led me to appreciate once again how different people are subject to different hierarchies of values.

Then it came back to me, from out of nowhere, what a hubae once said to me in passing many years ago when he was helping me to optimise the settings of my PDA[!]. He said I struck him as someone who would be genuinely happier if somebody gave me a copy of Bejeweled than actual jewels. 😀 Perhaps I really am. Perhaps it has something to do with how I understand virtuality.

Leave a Reply

