Typing away

I have always been very smug about my typing skills. Not only that I type fast, but also that I type with all my fingers on the right keys. And I don’t look down at the keyboard at all. Just like how my childhood piano teacher told me my posture should be. This is a result of serious practice when I owned my first computer. (Many thanks go to the classic typing game Venezia in the 1990s.)

20140313_Venezia
(Screenshot originally displayed here)

This evening, a young man sitting in front of me on the bus was typing something on his smartphone. So fast yet so comfortably. I was already admiring the proficiency, but then he did something even more amazing. He turned his head away from the phone and gazed out the window, while continuing typing. As fast and as comfortably.

Darn, you win.

Leave a Reply

