A gene for a PhD?

During a one-to-one today, a student asked me if I agree with her that PhD research is meant for only certain types of people. “One needs a gene for that, wouldn’t you agree?”, said she half-jokingly.

The question curiously stayed with me for the rest of the day. I am a research skills developer, and hence by default it’s nurture over nature any time for me. However, based on my experience and observation, what I think would *help* is resilience – or better yet what Taleb (2012) calls ‘antifragility’.

Leave a Reply

