Darwinian takeover of education

How naïve I was. When I started to see tweets on the New College of the Humanities, I thought it was a 21st-century adaptation of the Invisible College. Then I saw a Facebook page set up in protest, which made me curious what the fuss was about. Again, how naïve I was.

You might have forgotten already, but I still vividly remember students desperately protesting in freezing cold against the tripling of tuition fees. It has only been a few months, for goodness’ sake, let alone that the issue hasn’t been resolved. And what did these so-called leading intellectuals come up with? A private college charging even twice the new maximum fee for public universities. What kind of message are they trying to send, exactly?

As my mind is too boggled, I am instead linking an article that says all I want to say but in much more decent language.

AC Grayling’s private university is odious (Terry Eagleton, The Guardian, 6 June 2011)

And here are a couple more comments that I have dog-eared along the way.

RT @andrew_chadwick Enlightening comments on the “New College for the Humanities” here: http://bit.ly/kDiKTs and here: http://bit.ly/jlcdCC (6 June 2011)

RT @evgenymorozov One group of people madly excited about The New College are those of Gaddafi’s sons who couldn’t make it to LSE (6 June 2011)

Transcript of Telephone Call from Cambridge Lecturer, Michael Hrebeniak, to New College of the Humanities: is NOT a spoof!!! (A Facebook note by Priyamvada Gopal, 06 June 2011)

* Despite my association with the University of London (as a PhD graduate and an on-and-off employee), I have, AS ALWAYS, written this post in an entirely personal capacity.

Leave a Reply

