Show me your ‘mouscle’

I have lightly touched upon the topic of e-sports on this blog a couple of times (here and here, for example), but to be frank with you, I have never been into Starcraft or other online multiplayer games myself. *gasp* I know, I know, you might be tut-tuting and questioning what kind of a Korean I am as Starcraft is informally known as the country’s national pastime. What can I say? It’s just that I happen to enjoy a Minesweeper kind of puzzle games more.

Though I do know quite a few enthusiastic players personally – as close as one of my sisters. This is a photo I took in 2006 when I was back in Seoul for fieldwork for my thesis. At that time she was very much into WoW. Impressed, I coined a word for her, ‘마筋’, respectfully referring to the bit she’d developed around the right wrist. The word consists of the first half of the word mouse and a Chinese logogram for muscle, so the best translation I could think of is ‘mouscle’, as the title to this post goes.

Anyway, the reason why I started to write about all this is the Global Starcraft 2 League currently held in Seoul. I have just learnt that in the quarter-final, Lim Yohan (aka. Terran Emperor) is going to play Lee Yoon-Yeol (aka. Genius Terran) – a match that all spectators have waited to happen. I’ve always thought e-sports wasn’t my thing, but the tournament is unfolding so dramatically that I can’t help following the news. Perhaps it was indeed in my Korean gene. 😉

In case you are also interested, it will be on 2 November, at 19:00 KST.

Leave a Reply

