Licence to be brunette

Again, this is about something I read a couple of weeks ago. I have been a bit consumed by the annual conference of the PSA UK in Swansea last week and a piece of writing that I had to revise. As you might have noticed by now, my blog is never for a real-time reaction to what’s going on in the world. Mine is more for, well, rumination. 😉

20080409_certified_brunette Anyway, this Hankyoreh article was about how Korean high school students still have to go through appearance-checkup every morning, during which any hair types other than ‘straight black’ will be picked out. According to the article, quite a few schools issue a special card like the one in the photo for such students to carry with them. The card says it is certified that this person is brunette by birth [not having had her hair dyed]. The purpose of this practice is, in the words of the faculties of the schools, to help students avoid unnecessary hassles they would have had to go through every morning against teachers otherwise. Ah, I can’t believe things haven’t changed at all since my high school time. My school didn’t have a system like this, and God only knows how many times I was picked out for the lighter shade of my hair. I even had it dyed in black a couple of times just for a simpler life. BTW, for boys, it’s rather straightforward. I don’t know about now, but when I was in school, boys’ hair couldn’t be longer than 0.3cm or something. The best measure was known to be a tennis racket on the top of your head to see if your hair comes out of the net of strings. 😀

Hmmm, how am I gonna end this random post? Nina Simone, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

