If you tell me today, I will be happy from today.

20070131_gift(2)I’ve been suggesting this for a long time. Let me address it once again on my blog. Surprises are overrated. Assume I will live for another 50 years. 18,250 days. If you have bought a gift for me (No pressure!) and tell me now what it is, I will be happy from now. However, if you are planning to give it to me next Wed as a surprise, I will enjoy the gift only for 18,243 days. A week of my happiness will be lost. I know some might argue back by bringing up the possibly higher intensity of joy with unexpected gifts (the law of diminishing marginal utility?), but for me, I wouldn’t mind even if mine were scheduled. Isn’t it always nice to have something to look forward to?

[The drawing is from Marimo Ragawa’s Baby and Me.]

2 thoughts on “If you tell me today, I will be happy from today.

Leave a Reply

