The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth

I haven’t got around to blogging lately. Mum came to see me from Korea – for the first time in my 6 years in total of living abroad. Always wanted to, but her juggling life never quite allowed her before this time. She is currently a university student herself in Japanese Literature, which is why I can’t whinge and whine to her about being a student at my age. 😉 After she left last Wed, I had to write a short paper for the inSTIL programme I have been taking. The tutor said a 1,000-word essay should be a piece of cake for PhD students, but I am such a terribly slow writer – even in my native language. For me, writing is almost like embroidery. Anyway, since the deadline was today, and I believe I have submitted a reasonable piece of work, I have decided to indulge myself for now. A couple of hours of aimless Web surfing, obviously. What else.

So I have been catching up on reading blogs, on one of which I have found this relaying post called “5 things you didn’t know about me“. As this self-explanatory title indicates, a blogger tells 5 stories about him/herself and appoints a few more bloggers, most likely his/her friends, so that they take the baton and offer their stories. The prevalence of self-narratives seems to be an interesting and important feature of online culture. BBC Digital Stories and all that. However, this is not what I wanted to scribble about today.

The post reminded me of a little chat I had with my second sister – I have three sisters – a long time ago. Korean undergrads have a world-class reputation for drinking. When I was at university, every time we drank much, we played the Truth Game. Rules are simple. There is just one rule actually. Anyone can ask any questions, and the answerer in turn only tells the truth. I later found my baby sister (who is 8 years younger than me) and her friends still play it when they go on camping or something. I wondered why people want to play it for a decade; why we are obsessed with truth revelation. My second sister then casually added, “It’s not that people want to know the truth but that they want to tell the truth.” There is some truth in that, I suppose. (Half-pun intended.) Just like the legend of Midas and his barber goes.

2 thoughts on “The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth

Leave a Reply

